The Rescue Rooms archives: 2016


  • Monday 25th April 2016
  • Supported by: Flowers

we are scientists 2016

Genre: Indie rock

About: We Are Scientists (also known as W.A.S.) are a New York based indie band comprising Keith Murray (guitar and vocals), Chris Cain (bass guitar and backing vocals) and, until 2007, Michael Tapper (drums and backing vocals). We Are Scientists formed in 2000 and have released three EPs, five Top 40 singles, and three albums, including 2008's Brain Thrust Mastery which reached number eleven in the UK. The nucleus of We Are Scientists came together in 1997 when Keith Murray and Chris Cain met at Pomona College in Claremont, California. It was here that they hooked up with Michael Tapper who studied at nearby Harvey Mudd College. After graduating they moved to Berkeley and started rehearsing as We Are Scientists. There is much speculation surrounding where the name originated, but the most popular theory is that the band were asked by a U-Haul truck worker if they were scientists to which they regrettably replied 'no'.

After moving to New York, We Are Scientists released their debut album, the self-made Safety, Fun, and Learning (In That Order) in April 2002. We Are Scientists also released three EPs, Bitchin', In Action, and The Wolf's Hour, on their own Checkered Seagull label. We Are Scientists describe their output as "rock music of the thoughtful, sometimes epic, often loud, vaguely danceable, implicitly humanist variety" and their gigs are notoriously wacky, often featuring jokes and banter between the band and their devoted following.

2005 saw the release of We Are Scientists' major label debut album, With Love & Squalor (Virgin Records), which sold over 100,000 copies in the UK. It featured the singles Nobody Move, Nobody Get Hurt, The Great Escape, and It's a Hit. Nobody Move, Nobody Get Hurt was reissued in 2006 and climbed to number 21 in the UK chart. We Are Scientists also performed the song on The Late Show with David Letterman. That year We Are Scientists featured on the NME Shockwaves Tour alongside Arctic Monkeys, The Mystery Jets, and Maximo Park. We Are Scientists released Crap Attack, a compilation of b-sides and rarities, in November 2006.

In 2007, We Are Scientists were nominated for NME Best International Band Award and supported The Kaiser Chiefs on tour. Long-time drummer Michael Tapper retired from We Are Scientists in November 2007 and was eventually replaced by Adam Aaronson. Keyboardist Max Hart from The High Speed Scene joined We Are Scientists and has since become a permanent fixture.

Links: Facebook // Website // Twitter


Please note this is a 14+ show.