The Rescue Rooms archives: 2012

The Maine, The Maine live at The Rescue Rooms

  • Tuesday 25th September 2012
  • Supported by: This Century; The Arkells





The Maine was started by bassist Garrett Nickelsen and drummer Pat Kirch in 2007. The band's name originates from the song "Coast of Maine" by Ivory. Singer John O'Callaghan joined soon after, along with Ryan Osterman and Alex Ross. Together they released the EP Stay Up, Get Down. Shortly thereafter Ryan and Alex left for unknown reasons, but were replaced with Kennedy Brock and Jared Monaco. The Maine signed to Fearless Records and on December 11, 2007 made their debut with a five song EP called The Way We Talk, produced by Matt Grabe. Their first full-length album, Can't Stop, Won't Stop, was produced by Matt Squire and was released in the summer of 2008, just before the band toured with Good Charlotte and Boys Like Girls. Their next release was a holiday EP in December 2008 titled ...And A Happy New Year, produced by Matt Grabe. The EP included three new original tracks and a cover of the Wham! song "Last Christmas". In 2009, the band signed to Warner Bros. Records. In July 2009, the band performed on the Vans Warped Tour. In December 2009, The Maine released This Is Real Life, their first published book. It consists of written memoirs from the band as well as photography by Dirk Mai.

On July 13, 2010, The Maine released their second full-length album, Black & White, produced by Howard Benson. In November 2010, while on the Harmony tour with Never Shout Never, The Maine and NSN had fans gather canned foods to help those in need. As a 'thank you' gift, both acts released a split EP titled Split - EP. On December 27, 2010, The Maine released the LP "In Darkness and in Light Box Set" on iTunes.

Aside from recording music, The Maine has other projects they work on for their fans. They have released two books—This Is Real Life and Black & White Keepsake Book. This Is Real Life is compiled of photos taken by friend Dirk Mai and journal entries written by the band members during the 2009 Vans Warped Tour. The Black & White Keepsake Book also consists of photos and journals from the band members. John recently collaborated with Dirk Mai to create Exaltation, a book containing 15 poems written by O'Callaghan and 15 accompanying photographs from Mai.

They have played in many tours including Warped Tour and The Bamboozle Roadshow. They went on their first headlining tour in 2010, An Evening with The Maine. In October 2010 they joined the Harmony tour with Never Shout Never. In February 2011 they started an international tour that began in the Philippines. From there they went to Australia and performed at Soundwave. They re-joined Never Shout Never for a European tour ending in the U.K.. In April 2011, the band co-headlined a U.S. tour with Augustana, from May to June 18, 2011.

Band members have confirmed that they are working on a new album, to be done independently. The Maine had been playing 3 new untitled songs on their tour and performed one live exclusivley for Fuel.TV named "Don't Give Up On Us Now".

John O'Callaghan - Vocals
Kennedy Brock - Guitar and Back-up Vocals
Jared Monaco - Guitar
Garrett Nickelsen - Bass
Pat Kirch - Drums
Please note this is a 14+ event.